Notifications
Clear all

Trying to learn more

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@gibby6117)
Topic starter  

Hello to all and I would appreciate any advice that you pros might give. I have been playing a flat top Gibson on and off for 40 yrs mostly off and all I know are the most of the main chords on the 1st three frets. I just baught a Gibson electric and I am commited to learning to play and I want to get pretty damn good at it and I talked to one teacher a young fellow and he told me that I was really to old to get really good and I am age 64. any comments would be appreciated and I want to learn to read music and play lead on a lot of old country songs.
Thanks

(@dagwood)
Noble Member

...... I talked to one teacher a young fellow and he told me that I was really to old to get really good and I am age 64. ....

HOGWASH!! You prolly won't be the next Guitar God but who cares. Find another instructor :)

Good for you for picking it back up again.... Keep on Rockin!!! GRAMPS!!!! :) :) :D :D :D

Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing. - Wernher Von Braun (1912-1977)

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Find another instructor :)

Toss the punk in a trash can first; then find another instructor.

8)

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

You're never too old.

Here is a great start to wrapping your mind around some notation.

Your Very Own Rosetta Stone - A Guide To Reading Musical Notation - Part One

You'll also find that you CAN in fact learn a lot on your own. If you need any help, you found us once..... :wink:

Welcome to guitarnoise

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

I seem to recall a teacher posting on here a couple years back about having a guitar student who was something like 85 years old. If you want to learn, you're way ahead of a lot of kids whose parents drag 'em in!

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member