Tuition

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@amnesia)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi there...

I'm not really a beginner, but am ALWAYS learning.

I've been playing around 2 years and you can see my equipment below.

I like playing Acoustic for rhythm etc - when there are no other instruments playing with me (apart from maybe a drum kit and/or another guitar).

I've been asked to Accompany my friend as she sings. Which is fine, as this will take me along another learning curve (because I've never done it before).

Around a month ago I bought myself an Epiphone Sheraton II, which is so much easier to play than my Acoustic. I've been learning a few riffs, such as Eric Clapton (one of my biggest influences), Guns N Roses etc... To get used to the guitar.

However, I find I can learn another song/bit of solo/riff but tend not to learn anything.

I was wondering if there is any good CDs/Tuition Magazines/Books out there that would be worth getting, that could teach me some soloing, a bit of lead, some rhythm. To build on the basics, give me the scope to do either Rhythm or Lead and continue to progress.

I'm not wanting to bang out a load of power chords (such as Blink or Greenday) as I don't find their guitar work impressive enough.

I hope you know where I am coming, and I have already done a search, and there wasn't much that benefitted me.

Thanks for your help!

Amnesia

//--Amnesia--

Gutiars: Sheraton II | Yamaha APX-7A | Taylor 510CE-LTD
Equipment: Hiwatt 40 Amp | Switch Pedal | Zoom 200 FX Pedal
Piano: Roland 236

(@alangreen)

An hour in your local guitar shop will throw up countless CD/DVD's and books on how to play lead and rhythm. The problem is sorting out the decent stuff.