Clear all

tuning by ear

12 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@deanobeano)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

how long had u been play when u could tune by ear ? also did u learn by practicing it or did it just come naturally ?

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

You get better at it over time, as your ear develops.

When I started playing, there weren't any electronic tuners. We tuned to each other, or used a pitch pipe. I wasn't nearly as accurate then... but neither were most of the folks I played with :)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

What he said^ :D

i have found also over the years that because of various reasons being "in tune" didn't help me to play along with a record (yes phonograph) or later tapes and CDs because being off from the speed of the recording was enough to make it impossible to figure out chords and whatnot.
so i would listen to a recording and try to pick out an open chord or a note that i thought i could recognise and go from there.

i know that sounds like gibberish but it's an aquired skill that you pick up on over time.
for instance a song with a droning Am like "working class hero" it's easy to pick out the high E and off you go.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I could tune by ear from day one.
Not completely accuratly but close enough to make the instrument playable.
Everyone is different and everyone has different abilities so any question of "how long does it take?" for anything, can only give you a range that you may fall into but never an accurate time table.

ReplyQuote
(@hummerlein)
Estimable Member

I could tune by ear quick & pretty accurately by the 1 year point. It was really probably sooner than that, but that was when I noticed all of a sudden that I could tune.

ReplyQuote
(@sin-city-sid)
Prominent Member