Clear all

Ultimate Beginner

12 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@will342)
Topic starter  

Hey all,

I'm really new to this, I got a guitar just under a week ago, but I've been playing almost 5 hours a day I love it so much! Anyways, I just had a couple really basic questions. First, the fingering for the D chord. From what I've seen the "proper" fingering is the first finger on the second fret of the third string, second finger on the second fret of the first string, and the third finger on the third fret of the second string. I'm having some trouble with that fingering, mostly that its really hard to get that first string free. I've found that its alot easier to play the chord by reversing my first and second fingers, so that the first finger is playing the first string on the second fret, and the second finger is on the second fret of the third string. However, with this fingering I'm having trouble switching to the d chord quickly, oviously some of the lack of speed is because I haven't been playing for very long, but I'm wondering if the recommended fingering would allow me to be able to switch quicker.

My next question is regarding pick strumming versus hand strumming. I've mostly stuck to using a pick, my hand strumming is awful, especially on the up-strum. Does anyone know of a lesson on the internet showing proper hand strumming, showing how to shape your hand/fingers properly and all that? Also, whats the best method of percusive stroke when using a pick?

Finally, I noticed in some of the tabs, a curved line tieing some notes together. I think this might be a hammer? What is it, and how do you play it?

Anyways, sorry for all the dumb questions! I've saved up for a long time to buy/play a half-decent acoustic, and I really hope I'll be able to get good at it. Any comments/suggestions for beginning would be greatly appreciated :D

Thanks,

Will

- It hurt like hell to type all of this lol

(@barnabus-rox)
Famed Member

Welcome Will