Skip to content
What do you look fo...

Notifications
Clear all

What do you look for in a teacher – or in a student?

46 Posts
22 Users
0 Likes
(@twistedfingers)
Honorable Member

You've covered all the basics, I think. There's one more I'd add from personal experience: a sense of organization.

When I was a guitar student, every teacher I had began each lesson with the same question:

"What were we working on?"

It really ticked me off.

Had either one of the teachers I've had, had just done that one time I'd still be taking lessons. Sigh, too bad Noteboat is three hours north. :P

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming -- "WOW--What a Ride!"

ReplyQuote
(@rag_doll_92)
Reputable Member

I'm teaching myself, I'm hopeing on geting some tips from this 'friend of a friend' dude that plays in a band, that could be in the next week/month, he told me he wanted me to learn this scale pattern, learn it well, backwards forwards FAST. I've done that, but so that are hour or so is worth it, and succeds all, so that I can take all that I possibly can from it, is there anything I can do, learn, practice...Oh and this bloke is heavy on guitar slang, so he says something that I totally 'know' but uses player slang and I can't understand, and I look like I know allot less than I actually do... :( any suggestions? tips? ANYTHING!? It would be very helpful :)

Sorry Chris C didn't mean to take over you post...I've been meening to ask on this board, just havent't gotten around to it, well haven't found a popular thread like this that I'd actually get an awser from :).