Clear all

What should I be doing?

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@hoeycow)
Topic starter  

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting on here. This seems like a really cool site, especially for someone like myself who has played a bit but still has some of those "dumb" questions. Anyways here's my problem. I'm now 9 months in to playing guitar. For my first 4 months I had weekly lessons which helped me a great deal then my teacher left. For the last 5 months I've been going at it alone and practicing lots after work. I love putting in the work my question is what should I be doing now. I get tabs online and from my monthly Guitar World magazine and try to learn them as best as as I can. I can play songs with simple solos like Smells Like Teen Spirit and things of that nature but when it gets to the more advanced songs it's going at a turtle's pace. I know how difficult playing is and I know that I shouldn't be trying to work on Jimi Hendrix type stuff but I want to push myself. My teacher always taught me lessons through learning songs since he said that "every song has their own lessons inside of them." I agree with this zen like statement but I also wonder if banging away at new song tabs is making the most of my practice time. I feel like I need more technique based things to do yet there are many people who just learned how to play by learning songs. What should I be doing now? I love to play I just don't want to be wasting my time and stunting my growth as a player when I could be doing more constructive things. Any suggestions?

(@bloos66)
Reputable Member

Hi,
welcome to the forums, and great post and questions. Have a look at this page for some practice tips - https://www.guitarnoise.com/tag/practice-tips/