Clear all

What should you learn first?

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@globetro)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I'm a beginner guitarist, and am mostly interested in playing rock/metal/alternative type music. However, it seems like all beginner lessons/books always focus on playing folksy/blues stuff.

So should I put my musical interests on hold, and learn the stuff in the beginner books such as learning to read standard musical notation, learning some fingerstyle, etc. Or should I focus on what my actual musical interests are, and practice power chords, reading tabs, etc?

(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

You need to look a little harder for a beginners rock book. There are some out there. In any case learn the basic open chords that are used the most along with some of the basic minor chords: C A G E D F, a minor, e minor, d minor. some of these chords are used in almost every song you're going to learn eventually.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

The actual basics of music theory are the same for every genre, from classical to heavy Metal. Beginners books tend to concentrate on easy music, to give the student confidence - the musical style is really irrelevant. As you progress, you'll find that your natural instinct will take you towards your favourite music, but, by then, you'll have enough knowledge to make the leap much easier.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

The less expensive beginners books are loaded up with old blues and traditional folk stuff (at least partly) because that stuff is public domain, and they don't have to pay any cash to the copyright holder.
As has been mentioned, there are "rock for beginners" books out there.

I can't really comment on them, though, as I'm both a beginner, and notoriously cheap.