Clear all

What should you look for in a teacher

16 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@frank2121)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

What should you look for in a teacher? I recently decided to get and pay for a lesson on guitar,
For I have been working through this site and others for about a year now and have found it great, but I came to a stop (felt I was not learning didn't know what should I learn next) I thought I needed some direction.
I have never got a lesson before this so I decided a lesson was the way to go,
When i Idid I must say, I was very disappointed in it
I felt I didn't learn anything from it .Now I'm thinking is it worth going back will I learn, should I give him another chance, does it take a while to get into the swing of things, do I tell him what I would like or does he tell me what I should learn who's in charge. Should they give you something to practice before you go back for another lesson which I didn't
get. .
I'm no expert but I feel there should be some structure to go by, it can be very expensive to learn if your not leaning anything :lol:
I guess how do you know who's good or bad till you try!
~~~~~~~~~~~COST YEA THOUGH :!: ~~~~~~~~~~~~

yours truly
Disappointed

ps had to get that out

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Yep, there should be a structure... but first lessons don't always have one (unless you're a complete beginner)

Most instruments have a standard 'pedagogy', an order in which skills are learned. A piano or violin teacher can size you up in minutes, and determine what should be taught next.