Skip to content
What up with my con...

Notifications
Clear all

What up with my concentration, yo? (help...)

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@guthrek)
Topic starter  

I'm a relatively new player (about a year and a half). I was self taught up until about three months ago, when I got myself a teacher because I was in a rut. It's working for me, but I'm seeing a lot of the same problems I was having back when I was learning solo, which is time alotted.

I can't practice for longer than 40 minutes.

It's pretty much as straightforward as that. It's not a matter of not wanting to, or not caring enough; I'm planning on making this my career, so it's not like it isn't important to me. I just have the hardest time practicing for extended periods of time. I can generally make it to the forty minute mark, and then I start feeling all stuck and twitchy. I stop being able to focus on what I'm practicing, and instead go off on semi-musical tangents, doing things I already know that I'm comfortable with, and generally wasting time.
I don't know if it's a matter of concentration (I don't have any sort of diagnosed attention disorder), or work ethic. I don't think it's work ethic, because mentally I'm totally willing to devote entire days to it, and sometimes I try to play past my discomfort. But I just hit a point where I can't practice efficiently anymore. It's incredibly frustrating, and I would love some suggestions/sympathy. How do you develop focus?...

P.S. I apologize if this had been covered already, but I don't have the patience (clearly...) to look through the entire list of posts.

(@jonnyt)
Reputable Member

40 minutes is a long time to work on just one thing.