Notifications
Clear all

What's so great about Classical Gas?

16 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@g-wiggah)
Topic starter  

People get praised for succeeding in playing classical gas and I would like to know what that means.

I think i've heard of the song before but is it really difficult? how can i learn?

(@snoogans775)
Reputable Member

honestly, being a classical guitarist, I don't find Classical Gas very difficult, but it is a standard for classical students, it was written by Mason Williams, but his original recording was with a poorly orchestrated brass section, so I suggest you find a guitar instrumental of it. But really, you don't need to learn it, there many more songs that are more difficult than it.

I don't follow my dreams, I just ask em' where they're going and catch up with them later.
-Mitch Hedburg
Did you see that!

ReplyQuote
 bltc
(@bltc)
Trusted Member

It's nothing great. But it sure sounds difficult to play. It's also one of those songs that everyone recognizes and lovea to play too.

I was playing it one day when I was getting my carpet installed. One of the workers putting in the carpet said, "Hey that's Classical Gas! I used to love playing that song."

ReplyQuote
(@blackenedanger)
Trusted Member

Man I haven't thought about that song in AGES!!!

Never learned on guitar.

But I was a VERY good french horn player, I'm sure I still am if I picked one up and practiced a little, and in my middle school band years ago we played that song.

I liked it. Was before I ever got into the metal scene though.

It wasn't too tough, but that was also the French Horn Bflat arrangement, with the guitar it's probably harder.

Ya know. I think I'll save up and get me a french horn. I kind of miss playing it sometimes, though my attention revolves around my guitar now.

"Into ruin, I am sinking, hostage of this nameless feeling!" - MetallicA

ReplyQuote
(@tucker)
Estimable Member

I play brass too, but I hate my tuba. It is one hefty mother.

ReplyQuote