Clear all

Whats the "right" way to alt. pick

13 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@mattypretends116)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for several years and thought I had all my technique bases covered. I take lessons from two guys, on who went to Berkely and all that, great player, our styles and interests are the same. Lucky to have found a good teacher. The other guys is more into metal, which is not really my thing, but he is a very clean, good player and I have learned some good things from him. Which brings up my question:

I learned to alt pick from a reliable source by a wrist motion: you loosely hold the pick and and move your hand up and down. My first teacher does it that way too, and I have gotten good at it that way. But my "metal" teacher uses a motion that is more rooted in the first two joints of his forefinger and thumb. He gave me some simple metal riffs to work on, but no metter what I do I can't get them! I'm not a new player, and thought I had this sort of thing down, but I just keep messing up and it's driving me bonkers :D

Is my trouble rooted in the fact that its simpy a different style? Or have I just been alt. picking incorrectly all this time? I'm not interested in metal, but if the techniques will help my playing in all respects, then I'll practice them that way

Thank you!
M

"Contrary to popular belief, Clapton is NOT God. The prospect that he is God probably had a large hand in driving him to drugs and booze. Thanks everyone."

-Guitar World :lol:

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

There are few specifics or perfect techniques for any type of picking -- alternate or otherwise. If one does a web search on picking techniques -- alternate, economy, Benson, circle ... -- lots of discussions should pop. Even the seasoned pros debate this all the time. I read a recent jazz newsgroup posting purporting that Pat Metheny is unhappy with his picking technique -- who knows? Could be true.