16 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
 tree
(@tree)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi,
I've been doing barre chords for a couple years now and generally it's going decently. For most common barre chords I don't feel like I have to strain or anything and can play them easily. However, after doing barre chords for awhile in practicing I will sometimes get a shooting pain in my wrist. Specifically, the pain occurs at the insertion point of the tendon on the side of the pinky finger. That part of my wrist seems to tense up when I press down with my pinky hard.

Anyways, I've started doing some really light weight-lifting for my wrists and additionally stretch and massage my wrists before and during practice.
I think my wrist position is okay, but I thought I'd just post a couple pics for others to check. Hopefully the pictures show the wrist well enough.

Here the pictures are (E-form barre chord):

Any help would be great, thanks!

so many places that are hard to see
so many places that aren't
so many places we want to be
so many times we are not

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I think you have very good hand/wrist posture. your wrist is straight
and your fingers have full access to the fret board.
it does not get any better than that.
a few things are important to your pain;
intensity, duration, recovery.
also when did you first notice it and what had you been doing.

some pain, discomfort, ache, what ever one calls it, some hurt comes with the territory.
aging, weather, climate, hydration, stress, should be considered.
I have experienced a sore wrist after an long guitar session playing lap steel.
my wrist was bent to hold the picks and play.
after a few days all was better.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@rahul)
Famed Member

It happens with me too. I also feel pain in the wrist after playing a song containing all barres for 3 minutes or so.