Clear all

a question for some theory teachers?

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I have taken on three private pupils, all complete beginners and only 11-14 in age. I have promised their parents that they will see a lot of progress in the next 12 months if they practice hard at home, and I have also said that i want to teach them basic theory from the off - the parents seem to understand that it is important but the kids just want to learn riffs and songs.

I dont want to bore the kids so much as they wont come back, but i dont want them unable to improvise in 12 months time because i didnt give them any theory at all. So I am leaving the theory until the last ten minutes of each lesson, and i test them on it in the first 5 minutes of the following lesson (to make sure they have been learning - i also give them "cards" i have made for them to use for revision at home).

My question is - how much theory should a complete beginner learn in a year? what goals do you set?

below is what i have set out to achieve, please feel free to add to/correct anything below:

1. Being able to play the pentatonic major/minor scale for any key, starting on any string from the root
2. Being able to play the major/minor scale for any key starting on any string from the root.
3. Understand how chords are made from scales.
4. Get the pupils to choose the right scales to use when improvising.
5. Get the pupils to be able to target chord tones, and colour tones (7th, 9th etc) for the chords on the backing track while improvising.

is this about right for 12 months, or is there something i have missed? or might this be too much?

thanks in advance,
Al

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@alangreen)