Notifications
Clear all

Arpeggios In Improvisation.

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@john-with-the-wind)
Topic starter  

This is my first post, so I'll quickly get some basic info. about myself out of the way.

Instruments and Experience
4 Guitars - 2 E, 2 A/E - 6 Years.
1 Keyboard - 1 Year.
1 Harmonica - Noodle off/on 1 Year.
1 Ukulele - Noodle off/on 1 Year.

Theory & Education
Mostly self-taught, 3 teachers over last 2 years.
Collection of music theory & science books to the ceiling.
6 glorious days at GIT with the Summer Shot program.

Non-Music Related Interests
Reading.
Sequential Movement Puzzles (Rubik's - Meffert's).
Math & Science.

Alright, now that all of that is known, here's my inquiry as related to playing guitar:

Arpeggios. Not what they are, but perhaps some suggestions or insight on applications
or different techniques useful for improvisation.

Unfortunately my first few years of playing were all spent working on trying to play too fast
and a bad habit of aimlessly noodling developed and it is really starting to get under my skin,
particularly after being surrounded by noodlers at GIT. Harmony & Melody are now my main concerns.

Hopefully this post will stir up some good ideas or suggestions, I've been browsing this
forum for a while and finally decided it was worth taking the time to register and post
now and again, mostly because I'm broke and can't afford to hang w/ expensive
theory teachers anymore, but also because I just dig the atmosphere.

Thanks for reading/responding.

John

"Farewell, profit, and be indulgent"

Johann Joseph Fux
Gradus ad Parnassum

(@steve-0)
Noble Member

Hey John, it seems like that if you know what arpeggios are then you are simply stuck on the APPLICATION of arpeggios. In my experience, your best bet would be to study players that you like and that use arpeggios in their guitar playing.