Clear all

Chord Functions

17 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

While I am studying the names of the steps in the scale and the use of flats and sharp.  Can you give any thoughts or tips on studying chord function a bit deeper than just tonic, sub-dominant, and dominant.  I'd like to study how I could use the flat five chord, etc.  The odd chords.

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Do you guys agree with my thoughts on chord functions?

Chord functions?  Seems that chord function just depends on what tonic was emphasized by the last V-I chord progression then the following chords can be labeled as Tonic, supertonic, mediant, subdominant, dominant, sum-mediant, and leading tone.  If the tonic C was emphasized by a G-C V-I move then if the next chord that came up was A, the A would function as a sub-mediant chord.  In a sense C functions as a the tonic and A as the sub-mediant.  Or it could function differently depending what scale you are thinking of the moment.  C major or A minor or A Dorian.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

You're right about C major having different functions in Major and minor keys.

Essentially, the primary function of a chord is to support the melody.  You may find chords that 'clash', or create dissonance, within the context of a progression, but I've never seen one that didn't work with the melody note... although you may have a temporary clash, the melody note will then move to a chord tone (this is called an appogiatura), or you'll find the chord resolves to something that then supports the melody (this is called a harmonic suspension, not to be confused with a suspended chord).