Notifications
Clear all

fingerstyle guitar

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@guitarwalt)
Topic starter  

I am fairly new to fingerstyle guitar. i was wondering if there was base patterns for different strums that is usually followed? i am having difficulty knowing how to do it in general. Taking a church hymn book does the music written in the book kind of show you what strings to pick? is there a way of finger picking the guitar by music or do you basicly only have tabs to follow on this? for instance a hymn book has bass, tenor, alto and saporano. i know the melody of the song follow the saprano notes but does the harmony for fingerstyle follow the other notes?

Crow
(@crow)
Honorable Member

Hi Walt,

Your harmony in fingerstyle would generally follow what's in the book.

What's your musical background, if you don't mind my asking? Are you coming to the guitar from, say, piano? If we have some context, it might help us help you. 8)

"You can't write a chord ugly enough to say what you want to say sometimes, so you have to rely on a giraffe filled with whipped cream." - Frank Zappa

ReplyQuote
(@guitarwalt)
Topic starter  

The guitar is the only instrument I play. I am a rhythm player mostly with little experience in lead. I understand basic music theory as in chord formulas, chord progressions, major and minor scales and the chords that form them, key signatures, basic modulation, just the basics in theory. I would love to play fingerstyle guitar but honestly don't know where to begin. I play traditional gospel hymns mostly. I am the only player and just accompany singers. The only music heard is what I make. I am looking to add more than just chord strums with a few fills. Don't know where to begin.

ReplyQuote
(@s1120)
Prominent Member

Here is a lesson right here on GN that is a great intro into the concepts...

https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/house-of-the-rising-sun/

Im sure there are many others also, but that looks like a good jumping off point.

Paul B