Clear all

I now know i know nothing!!!!!!...

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@nicola)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Soooooooooo, reading this forum. I found out that i remember NOTHING about music theory.
I have been just so happy and cruising along with tab that i realsed that it is weakening my growth and understanding of writing music.
Since i am primarily a bassist, notes and scales are my limits. But even they have there boundaries, as i dont understand how it all fits together.

I think all those years of forced piano when younger created like a defense mechanism in me.
But anyway, what im actually asking is. . .

I wanna learn to write and read theory, guitar styles.
So im sure you have all been in this postion and know a great text book or preferably web site to help me in this very impatient and ignorant state!

Cheers loads,
Nic

There has been years of investigation to find that 100% of statistics are made up

(@hbriem)
Honorable Member

Well actually, you're there.

This site has the best theory lessons available.

I recommend going through David Hodge's articles in the Theory Section.

You might start with these:

Theory Without Tears.

Five to One

The Power of Three

Basic Music Theory by Bruce Fleming might also be useful and I have learned a lot from Ricci Adams' MusicTheory.Net

I hope this helps. Here's a couple of tables that a lot of people have found useful to start them off.

Here are the 12 notes and the major scales based on them:

Key Minor Signature 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
C major A minor C D E F G A B
G major E minor # G A B C D E F#
D major B minor ## D E F# G A B C#
A major F# minor ### A B C# D E F# G#
E major C# minor #### E F# G# A B C# D#
B major G# minor ##### B C# D# E F# G# A#
F# major D# minor ###### F# G# A# B C# D# E#
F major D minor b F G A Bb C D E
Bb major G minor bb Bb C D Eb F G A
Eb major C minor bbb Eb F G Ab Bb C D
Ab major F minor bbbb Ab Bb C Db Eb F G