Clear all

Memorizing Scales

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@nexion)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I have been playing guitar for about 9 months and for the first 7 months all I did was print out tabs for my favorite songs (haven't we all been there?). Needless to say I didn't get to far and when I wanted more freedom and ability to create my own music but I had no idea or concept of how to play, so I rarely enjoyed it going off and on frequently.

For the past two months I have grown enormously as a guitar player basically just learning new chords, and using scales to create solos. I also do a lot of psychedelic noodleing and "going with the flow", but when I can come up with anything good it is really hard to play without getting stuck in a boring rut. So as you can still I am still in need of major improvement, but atleast I am happy with my playing level and enjoy playing.

I keep hearing, "Practice you major and minor scales".

What exactly should I be focusing on when I am practicing these scales? (Any good exercises would be greatly appreciated!)

After I am confortable with the basic major and minor scales what are the next best things to practice?

P.S. I also see people talking about major 7th and minor 7th, what exactly are these?

Thanks a million, I know this was a long and tedious question of extreme basics, but I wanted to actually talk to somebody because I usually don't learn well from pre-written lessons.

Any advice, comments, encouragement, exercise suggestions, etc... are greatly appreciated!

"That’s what takes place when a song is written: You see something that isn’t there. Then you use your instrument to find it."
- John Frusciante

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Be sure you can play the scales up and down the neck and work at reciting the names of the notes as you do so. It helps immensely to be able to name the notes as you play.