Clear all

metronome terminology

7 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

one thing i never taught myself properly was metronome terminology. can i just double check something?
if i am playing triplets i play 3 notes with each beep, octuplets would be 8 notes, quater notes 4, and so one.

if this is correct then what is a 16th note triplet?? how can i play 16 notes between beeps but have them as triplets??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

No - that's not quite right. It depends on how you choose to set the metronome.

A triplet group is 3 notes played in the time normally taken by two notes of the same type. So three sixteenth note triplets would be played in the time normally taken by two sixteenth notes or one eighth note. If your metronome is currently counting eighth note beats then those three sixteenth note triplets will be played under one beep of the metronome. If your metronome is currently counting quarter note beats, then the three sixteenth note triplets would occupy exactly half the time between beeps.

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

ah - not sure i understand fully, but i do now know i have been using my metronome wrong.
i have just been setting it to a set number beats per minute, and practice my picking to that. At the minute i am playing at 151 bpm and picking 3 notes for each beep (just through the major scale), which i thought was triplets at 150 (not terrible fast but hey, ill get there) - but there is no emphasis on any of the beeps, they are all the same.

ill track down a different internet metronome and see if i can set it to emphasise on of the beeps, hopefully itll begin to get a bit clearer then. thanks. Al