Notifications
Clear all

Modes question

25 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@iseeumhmm)
Topic starter  

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum. I've been playing for quite a few years but just really now delving into the theory side of things.

I was messing around with some different chord progressions and embellishing with different modal scale ideas and came up with something like this D D D D /G G G G/ D D D D/ C C G G then back to D. All the while embellishing with short riffs and notes from the C major scale.

I understand of course that the progression revolves around the G major scale I V IV, and tonally centering it around the D should give a mixolodian feel? But the C major over the D gives a dorian feel? No? I noticed as well that D minor pentatonic consists of notes from the C major scale.

My question to you gurus out there is what key (mode) is this in, and am I way off on the modal concept. I do know that it sounds cool to me :)

Thanks very much,
Rick

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Simply look at the scales:

G A B C D E F#
C D E F G A B

A D major triad is D F# A
The C major scale has an F rather than F#.

If you are playing that F as part of your riffs, it is of course the flat 3rd of the D chord. This will give the scale a minor feel over the D chord.

I would say (without seeing the score and how you're using the C riffs in relationship to the chords) that you're in G.

As for modes, I don't believe they serve any use other than to complicate discussions, so I'll leave that to someone who wants to perpetuate the madness :)

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
 Crow
(@crow)
Honorable Member

I would say (without seeing the score and how you're using the C riffs in relationship to the chords) that you're in G.