Clear all

so lonely

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

this is a great song and we are rehaersing it now - however, i am stumped by the theory Andy summers uses on his solo.

IF anybody here already knows this solo and understands the theory could you give me a clue??
the chords are C G Am F, but a lot of the time he seems to be using the b minor pentatonic.
i know he likes to use outside notes as he loves his jazz, but i just dont understand why this solo works...

does anybody play it??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@lee-n)
Estimable Member

The key changes to D when the solo kicks in, everything moves up a whole step so the Bm pentatonic would make sense as it's the relative minor of D major.

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks, i didnt realise there was a key change - it makes perfect sense now. thanks

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

okay - progress is good. the song is gig ready and we are rareing to go. The solo and fills are there are sounding good -EXCEPT i want to alter the solo now slightly (dont ask me why, i always like to change a solo unless it is a "signature" solo everybody recognises).
I would like to play the origional solo from the record up until half way, and then when the tempo kicks up switch from major pentatonic to minor pentatonic and put my own stamp on it, but im struggling to make this work.

if you play half a solo in major pentatonic does this set the ears up to reject a switch to minor? it just sounds horrible when i switch??

does anybody who knows the song have a reason for this or should it technically work??