Theory beginner needs help!

13 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@vaifan777)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi gang!

I have been a member of this community for some time now and although I don't post much I really enjoy reading YOUR posts.

Here is my predicament.

I have been playing the guitar for 20+ years, released 3 albums/CD's, made a living playing for numerous bands and have always held my own for the most part. The embarrasing part of this story is that I never took any theory or lessons. I couldn't tell you the difference between a major scale and a hole in the ground. I feel that this has really held me back in becoming a well rounded musician. I have feeling, groove and a basic knowledge of where certain notes sound good, but if someone yells out, "Let's jam this tune in D minor" I'm a dead man.

So now that I have my sob story out of the way I will get to my point.

What would you guys (or gals) recommend as a good program, book, CD, DVD, etc, for someone who wants to learn theory and scales from the ground up? I have scoured the internet and there is so much stuff out there. If I am going to lay out the money I want it to be worth it.

Thanks in advance!

Vai Fan

"It has been said that something as small
as the flutter of butterfly wings could
cause a chain of events resulting in a
Tsunami on the other side of the World"

-Chaos Theory

(@tishidad)

The Guitar Scale Guru is the best book I have seen on this stuff.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

As you say, there is plenty on the internet. I learnt most of what I know off the net.

There is a good explanation of the basics of theory on
http://www.12bar.de

This site also has some very good articles on theory, from the first steps through to "pretty hairy for most people".

There are also a lot of folks on this forum more than willing to share their knowledge, if you have any questions.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.