what is a turn around chord??

16 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

so, what is a turn around chord??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

It's usually referred to as "a turnaround" if I'm understanding your question correctly. It's the set of chords at the end of a 12 bar (or other bar-length) blues prgoression. So, in the key of E, you have this 12-bar progression:

|E|E|E|E|
|A|A|E|E|
|B|A|E|B|

The bit I've put in bold is what would be referred to as "the turnaround" as that's the set of chords which take you from the end of the 'progression' (all twelve bars) back to the start (first line).

To go into a little more detail as to the "why" behind it, I'll switch to the key of C, since that's the easiest one to explain this by.

So, the key of C would have the following blues progression....

|C|C|C|C|
|F|F|C|C|
|G|F|C|G|

(Bold bit is the turnaround)

The scale of C major contains the following notes....

C,D,E,F,G,A,B,C,

and you can derive chords from this scale basically by taking any note, then putting with it the second note above your chosen note, and the note that is four places above your first note. (I say basically, since I'm not sure how this holds for all scales, I still gotta lotta learning to do, lol).

So, with scale of C, you have the following chords......

(I) C major (CEG)
(ii)Dminor (DFA)
(iii)Eminor(EGB)
(IV)F major (FAC)
(V)Gmajor(GBD)
(vii)Aminor(ACE)
(viii)Bdiminished (BDF)