Clear all

Chords/ Horse with No Name

67 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
43.6 K Views
(@davidhodge)
Topic starter  

Hi! I figured that we might as well wipe the slate clean and start at the beginning. Here you can ask questions, make comments and discuss problems, successes, experiences concerning anything covered in our two lessons:  

Absolute Beginners Part 1: Chords
https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/absolute-beginner-part-1/

Easy Songs For Beginners #1: Horse With No Name
https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/horse-with-no-name/

I'll begin the conversation by letting you all know that sometime in the next couple of days we'll be putting up MP3s for Horse and I'm also going to have corrected notation files to make the strumming patterns easier to read (not to mention correct the typos!).

So feel free to post up questions or just your general feelings towards these two lessons in particular.

Peace

PS - I'm also reminded of this fact (which I've conveniently cut and pasted from another thread  ;) )

As for "filling in the bottom", there is also a Bass lesson that goes with this:

https://www.guitarnoise.com/article.php?id=160

written by our own resident bottom dweller, Dan Lasley!

Peace

Addendum:

The MP3s are indeed up and I've also taken the liberty of removing the last example in the "Filling in the Bottom" section in that I do think it's a little too advanced at this point. I will probably add it to this lesson's companion piece Adding A Few Personal Touches, which, by the way, is not our next stop.

Hope the sound files help everyone else. Thanks to Paul for being so kind to get them online so quickly.

Peace

P0RR
(@p0rr)
Estimable Member

A problem I have with this song as well as all others is, as I'm strumming I sing the song to myself and I can't seem to break the habit of giving each word it's own stroke. Because of this, each measure could be 3, 4, 5 beats depending on the lyrics. It's impossible for me to get a rhythm going.

I think I play this