Clear all

Cinnamon Girl - Songs for Intermediates #21

11 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@big-ed)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I wanted to let Mr. Hodge know how much fun I'm having with this lesson. It's my first attempt with alternate tuning. I'm lucky enough to have 2 acoustics so I have left one in DOUBLE DROP D tuning and give the lesson a go once the a a day or so the past few days. It's starting to sound pretty good!
I've enjoyed several of Mr. Hodge's lessons and articles on GN. I've learned a lot and had a lot of fun.

Thanks!

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming - "WOW-What a Ride!" --Anonymous

(@clideguitar)
Reputable Member

In example #3 there is a curved line that connects the F5 chord. What does that mean (let it ring?). When the curved line is on top does that mean something else? Thanks, Bob Jessie

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

In example #3 there is a curved line that connects the F5 chord. What does that mean (let it ring?). When the curved line is on top does that mean something else?

Hi Bob

That curved line is a "tie." It combines the timing value of the two chords. In this case, it combines two eighth notes into a quarter note. "Letting it ring" works fine in that case.

It doesn't matter if the curved line is on bottom or the top. What does matter is if the notes on both sides of the curved line are the same. If so, then it's a tie. If not, it's a slur. A "slur" is, at least as far as the guitar is concerned, either a hammer-on, pull-off, slide or bend. In Example #2, for instance, the first curved line is a slur, indicating a slide from the first chord to the second one. The second curved line is a tie, indicating that the chord is held for a duration of two eighth notes (just like the one in Example #3).

I hope this helps.