Clear all

Can I write songs??

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@purple)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

A similar question has probably already been asked here but I am new, so please bare with me.

I actually have been playing guitar for a several years on and off but never really had much time to devote to it so I never really got better so I am still a beginner.  Recently have had a lot more time to play.  My question is, is being a beginner, am I already able to write songs?  I have ideas for songs sometimes when I am doing the randomest things, melodies will pop in my head or some lines for lyrics.  I also when fooling around with the guitar start playing things that I think sound cool.  I have just recently been trying to write down all my lyrical ideas (I even write down my ideas that aren't music related).  Should I have a mini-tape recorder that I can hum the melodies into?  Should I also record the guitar parts that I think sound cool?  Some of the song ideas I have, I don't think I have the ability (yet?) to translate them to a musical instrument.  For an added note, I am not completely ignorant to music theory.

I guess I kind of just need reassurance.  I am a perfectionist and am overly critical of myself, in a way I am just afraid that all the musical ideas I have are bad.  Basically, is it ever to early to attempt writing songs?

It's not easy being green.... good thing I'm purple.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It's never too early to try to write.

One of my earliest memories dates back to when I was maybe 6 years old... I would hear a melody in my head, and want to write it down.  My parents had some books of folk songs and early American tunes and such, and I'd sing them to myself (I could barely read the lyrics) until I found a note that matched what I heard in my head.  Then I'd laboriously copy down the note from the staff above it.

I had no concept of keys, accidentals, whatever... but I was putting down the music I heard.