-----------------------2b-----------------------2----------
------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------0h3p2
---3p2-------------------------3p2-----------------------

Head Arcitech at Vandelay Instudries

(@aroundtheclaxon)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

i have also a chord progression of G-A-C-D and the song seems to be in A minor for the people who know what there talking about is that right?? Can i use the A minor penatonic for a solo with this song?

ReplyQuote
(@zaiga)
Trusted Member

I can't comment on how catchy the riff is, as I'm at work and I don't carry a guitar with me, so I can't try it out. Also, I'm sure my co-workers would look at me strangely when I started playing guitar during work time ;)

Anyway, the notes you've used in this riff:

E----------------3------------------------3-----------------
B--------------------1-----3-----------------3--------------
G-----------------------2b-----------------------2----------
D-----------------------------------------------------------
A-----------------------------------------------------0h3p2-
E---3p2-------------------------3p2-------------------------
G F# G C A D G F# G D A A C B

For your information, that's in the key of G major.

As for your other song, if you have a chord progression G-A-C-D, then that's not A minor. In fact, the key is more likely to be G. In that case the A would be a borrowed chord (V of V). This gives you a I-II-IV-V chord progression, not uncommon in rock music.