Clear all

7 years and thinking about taking a break

28 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@steve-0)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Well, oddly enough lately I've been considering taking a break from guitar because I honestly don't know what to practice/play! I've been playing guitar for almost 7 years now and it just seems like I can never concentrate on practicing: either I find everything way, way, way too easy to play and don't bother with it or everything is way too hard. I've also been trying to work on my singing with some limited success (my violin teacher helps me out a bit with my singing), but it's just weird for me to think about stop playing even if it's only for a week or so, the longest i've probably gone without playing in those 7 years was maybe, a day :lol: . I've just really run out of ideas. Anyways, sorry about the rant, I guess i'm just kind of confused/worried/annoyed.

I'm just curious if anyone has ever felt this way and tips or opinions on how to get over this rut.

Steve-0

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

"either I find everything way, way, way too easy to play and don't bother with it or everything is way too hard."

Maybe it's time to quit playing others people stuff, and write a song of your own...YOUR rhythm, YOUR harmony, YOUR melody, YOUR solo, YOUR lyrics. And anything else that can be yours... :lol:

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Well you've got be by a few years but I feel the same way alot. I just moved an ddon't have a teacher and anytime I am without a teacher I usually flounder around looking for direction.

In the past what I have done is stop working on new songs and just work on exercises/scales for a few weeks. After a while of that I'm ready to get back to learning new songs.