Notifications
Clear all

A little help?

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@joshmassa)
Topic starter  

Hey there fellow guitarists. My name is Josh, I'm a new member here at GuitarNoise. I've been playing guitar for about 8 years now. Enough about me, onto the question. I just bought a guitar (literally about 2 hours ago) from a music store called JC Music, they were having a 25%-75% off all store merchandise sale, so I picked myself up a nice little guitar and Ibanez practice amp. The guitar I chose is an ESP EC-50, pretty sexy guitar if you ask me. There's a certain problem I noticed while playing it though. When I hold down the 1st fret on the 5th string, it "twangs" if I may. Upon further inspection, I noticed that when the 1st fret is pressed down, the string slightly lays upon the 2nd fret causing this "twanging" sound. Any way I can fix this without bringing it to a shop or messing up my guitar?

P.S. I DID try it out at the store, but I didn't play any riffs that required that specific fret. (Sorry for all the babbling)

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

It sounds like that second fret wasn't set properly or that it needs to be filed down to the same height as the others. Take a ruler and measure the frets and I wouldn't be surprised to find that that particular fret is ever so slightly higher than the others, which isn't an uncommon thing. You should be able to take it back to the store where you bought it and have them fix it (possibly for free). I wouldn't do it myself, because you really need to be precise. I would take it to someone.

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

do you hear this with the guitar amped or not?

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote