Clear all

A little lost in my progress

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@dl0571)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I just need to rant here for a minute and any advice will be greatly appreciated. I know what most of you will say but I'm looking for the creative and insightful responses.

I've been playing for about 3 1/2 years at this point. Up until about 7 months ago I was solely an acoustic player but added electric to my arsenal and love it. I feel like I've lost a bit of interest in playing-not because I don't love it, and not even because I get frustrated and want to quit-with my current schedule I'll occasionally go days without touching an instrument. Then when I do play I love it. However, I feel like I'm stuck in a really deep rut. As far as technique goes, I have quite a few skills-easily play chord progressions (short of some funky jazz chords I don't have much problem with chords), can pick, trem pick, want to learn to sweep pick and Im working on it. I am absolutely awful with theory and that probably frustrates me the most-I can sit down and learn almost any tab with enough time but I have no idea why I'm playing this note at that time, etc. I've tried to learn theory and it is like gibberish to me. I've lost interest in playing alone and want to play with others but face two main problems-1) When I'm home from school like I am now I have no one to play with and 2) when I do play with people I always feel inadequate because I either am not as skilled or I'll hear something in my head and can't apply it to my instrument. This gets very frustrating.

I know most of you will say I should get a teacher but there aren't any reputable teachers around here and if there were, financial reasons would stop me quickly. For that same reason, please don't recommend GASing. I can't afford it.

I already own and have read Noteboat's book but like I said, theory makes no sense to me.

I apologize for the rant but any advice or recommendations would be great.