Clear all

Blues you can use- any good?

31 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@michhill8)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Question, is this book for beginners? Or, is it chock full of stuff I could still learn after 3 years of playing serious. I've been looking for it all over at local stores and find nothing. I wanted to page through it before spening the cash. I see that wont be happening.

Just wondering your opinions.

Thanks guys,

Pat

Thanks Dudes!
Keep on Rockin'

Pat

(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Here's a 6 page thread full of discussion about this very book.

Lots of people have it, and seem to like it.
I just got a copy, and so far, I'm impressed.

For what it's worth, I've been learning on my own for about a year (though, I practice about 1/4 as much as I should).

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Question, is this book for beginners?

It is not for absolute beginners, imho. I'd say it's for "advanced beginners" if that means anything. Knowledge of basic open and barre chords, and familiarity with the major and minor scales will help a bit.

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
 vink
(@vink)
Prominent Member

I have it it, it is good.

However, it is definitely not for a complete beginner. If you know the basic open chords, maybe have some notion of scales etc, then it can work for you. It is not an easy book; you need to really work at it.

For example, by the second or third excercise, you are doing full note bends at the 5th position, and playing pickup notes. If you have no idea yet how to do a bend, for example, then the book might be a little challenging.

--vink
"Life is either an adventure or nothing" -- Helen Keller

ReplyQuote
(@wideawake)
Trusted Member

I got it two months into playing guitar found it very useful, been playing months now :>

You sing in praise of suicide, we know you're useless, like cops at the scene of the crime.

The sky is a landfill.

ReplyQuote