Notifications
Clear all

Do guitarists need a "warm-up"?

39 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
10.3 K Views
(@bestbackingtracks)

Regarding the comment about tendonitis and other injuries, I think it's a good idea for musicians to incorporate exercise into a daily routine. Playing an instrument is a physical activity, and exercise helps prepare for it. Ever since I started lifting weights regularly, I've had less problems with my wrists, arms and back. And running several times per week clears the mind, gives you a different type of endorphin rush, helps to keep you alert, and gives you more energy for the times you play guitar. I either run, bike, play basketball, or lift weights every day, and I think that helps make it possible to play guitar as much as I do.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

.I concur with most.only dif might be it's not work but Is fun.ah yes focus is a must although when using three guitars the three purposes are still there being each one yields a different tone and sound and a lot of good fun also.

"Work" = effort expended toward a desired goal. That's not the same as drudgery (work you'd rather not be doing)

For multiple guitars, one warm up will do if they techniques and setups are similar - warm up on a 25.4" scale length Martin and you're good to go on a 25.5" Strat, because they're so similar in placement and finger motions required.

I do a second warm-up if I'm going from plectrum to classical style or vice versa, because the pick drills don't warm up the right hand, and the left hand placement is slightly different due to the difference in neck width. But I can easily go directly from acoustic practice to electric, or from any of my steel string guitars to any other without a second warm-up.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@tactful)
Estimable Member