Clear all

Gibson vs Fender?

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Reactions
(@rsadler)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I'm still a newbie as far as guitars go, but reading alot and practicing every day. I'm trying to learn as much as I can for when I do upgrade to a real guitar and not a starter kit. I really like the sound of a Gibson Les Paul playing metal/rock. I also like Country. Would a Fender be better suited for playing both types of music as opposed to a Les Paul? Also I've seen a few posts about Fender Strats with a Humbucker pup mixed in with the single coils. How does that sound? I also like the shape of the Les Paul more, but again I want to be able to play both types of music.

(@cmoewes)
Estimable Member

The one piece of advice you will get around here when it comes to what guitars or equipment to buy is... try them out. Go to your local guitar store and play them both. I have a Fender and a LP clone and I love them both. The playability of the LP is great the shorter scale length really makes it fun to play on. But the Strat is also great, beutiful sounds, flexible playability.

One thing to consider is look at a fat strat (or if that phat strat) with is a strat with a humbucker in the bridge position (at least the bridge is where I usually see them)l I used to have a Squire strat before I got my American and I had replaced the original pickups with a prewired set with a humbucker. Sounded great. The humbucker give you that wonderful beefy tone while the single coils create that great classic fender sounds.

ReplyQuote
(@rsadler)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Actually I have a Squire Strat now, and have considered doing that, but wasn't sure how the results would sound. Did you replace just one? If so which one?

ReplyQuote
(@smokindog)
Illustrious Member