Clear all

Half A Year Playing

15 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Well, I've been playing for 6 months now. I think I've come further in the 6 months with the guitar than I did in the 3 years I played trumpet and clarinet.

I've actually cleaned up most of my power chords. As well as being able to change between most open chords. Though when I have to go to a C chord, I get kind of stuck, my one finger keeps sliding to the back of the fret.

I've been learning theory too. I've found the best way for me to learn it is to either apply it to the music or have examples from my music used to demonstrate it. I've been studying the history of it as well. Like why major chords are 1-3-5 or power chords just 1-5. Most of it is just to satisfy my curiousity more than anything.

I'm not sure what to learn next, since I'm actually pretty much happy with what I know now. At least for now anyways. I was thinking of scales next. But think I would learn them on the keyboard first. If I played them on the guitar first, I'd probably only learn the fingerings as opposed to the notes. Which probably wouldn't help me.

By far the most important thing I've learn is what music is. For me, it's a search for who I am. The one place I can be myself and not having anyone judge me. Of course, finding what music to play based on that can be hard since 'being myself' isn't a definite thing. But it does allow for growth.

Anyway, sorry for my ramblings. It's not to whine, there is still a lot more to learn but I am pleased with the progress I've made so far.

(@ghost)
Prominent Member

Congrats on your accomplishments OWA!!!!

:)

"If I had a time machine, I'd go back and tell me to practise that bloody guitar!" -Vic Lewis

Everything is 42..... again.

ReplyQuote
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Glad to hear you're enjoying your new found talent OWA. :D Good job!! 8)