Notifications
Clear all

Help on how to get a sound

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@jessec)
Topic starter  

Hi, I've been playing acoustic guitar for about 10 years, and recently got into electric guitar and using pedals to make interesting sounds. I was curious how to get this kind of eerie, evolving guitar swell kind of sound that you can here at about 0:18 here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HmdABg8bByI and something similar at about 1:15 here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uA0E3o8BCc . It sounds like a lot of reverb and maybe an evolving filter and I'm pretty sure the sigur ros sound involves using a bow on the strings, but I'm curious as to what your ears might come up with. Thanks for any help!

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

I played the Youtube and thought it was synth.

I have heard plenty of synths - my son builds and mods them, plus theramin and other effects, and plays other gazillions of gear that will totally bend and distort anything into the unthinkable, plus mimic sounds from a blender to a motorcycle.
So, it doesn't matter to some of these devoted noisemakers, what they use as a trigger. Anything that plugs in can be used. With the theramin, you use your body, moving through magnetic fields. A guitar can become a great synthesizer.

It has become very popular and chic to use vintage video games, and add-on keypads, like from a cell phone or remote.

My son finds the 4 string Bass so easy with 12 years experience, that he will use that, instead of a complex keyboard. Some of the original and tiny little keyboard toys and certain Casio's have become valuable prizes, and highly sought.

So, Hammock apparently uses a cello with a bow, and a slew of rackmount and perdalboard effects, I'll let you sort it out, rather than tell and re-post the pics or each stompbox with their names. The chain is unrecognizable - what goes where?