Notifications
Clear all

Hi..new guitarist..need some help

12 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@atreyuguitaristfreak)
Topic starter  

Hi all..im new to the forums...and to guitar..and right now..i suck at both...
Before i tell you what i need help with,im gonna give you some info about me...I started playing guitar in March 2004..my dad was giving me lessons, but i skipped to song learning instead (BIG MISTAKE)...my guitar is a real crappy BCRich Ironbird...i started playing punk stuff, but i needed better stuff to play..so now i would like to play some metal..anyways, heres what i need help with:

1.) Solos and all that are HARD for me...i do try them..for days at the most....but i never can get them,. the solo i want to learn is the kick butt solo in Atreyu- Lip Gloss and black....but i cant play by ear yet..and all the tabs seem wrong...what should i do?

Or...what is a nice song (hardcore or metal to be exact) that has a good and easy solo to start with?

2.) Ear training...i tried over and over and over and over again,...but i cant play by ear..i do not know the sounds of the notes..are there any GOOD sites out there that can help?

Thanks a million to whoever helps me...by the way,great site! 8)

(@j-rock)
Estimable Member

I've only been playing for a few months, but what I have learned is that you have to walk before you can run. Those boring scales that you do or the other boring practice eventually pays off when you try to play a song. Sorry that I can't help you with any riffs.

I can look back with a smile, knowing that my ambition far exceeded my talent.

ReplyQuote
(@atreyuguitaristfreak)
Topic starter  

thanks man...now that i can play songs..should i go BACK and learn those scales and stuff?

thanks a million 8)

ReplyQuote
(@j-rock)
Estimable Member