Skip to content
Is it bad that I ca...

Notifications
Clear all

Is it bad that I can't read sheet music?

63 Posts
33 Users
0 Likes
25.9 K Views
(@fishyboy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi, I've been playing for about 7 years now and basically I can't read sheet notation. I've never had a single lesson, which is why I've never "needed" to. I'd consider myself to be quite good on guitar, I know about scales/modes and such and can quite happily improvise to the majority of music genres. I started reading tabs, which in a way looking back feels slightly limited to that of sheet music, because obviously it doesn't teach you about timing. But lately I tend not to use tabs, instead playing by ear. I'd much rather create my own rendition of a particular song where I want to on the neck. The only question is, is it bad that I can't read sheet music? I guess I could learn, but do I really need to? At some stage I would like to learn other instruments, the only other instrument I can play is the harmonica and I can sing, but I'd like to learn the sax and piano. Any advice?

All the gear, but no idea.
http://www.youtube.com/user/93fishi/videos

(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member

your in great company...Paul Mcartney can't read sheet music...never stopped him :D

what did the drummer get on his I.Q. test?....

Drool

http://www.myspace.com/ballybiker

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

Nothing wrong with Tab - it allows you to build a repertoire quite quickly without having to read the dots. People ask if they need to learn to read music to play guitar, and if you look back 500 years there was a system of Tab for the lute; so it's a question that's been around for ages and there's always been an alternative to standard notation.

There is a downside with Tab, as you'd expect.