Skip to content
I've been playing f...

Notifications
Clear all

I've been playing for exactly two months now...so...

14 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@kevin72790)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

how am I doing?

For the past month I went basically with what the book said, on single notes. You know, songs like Jingle Bells and stuff. I'm damn good at playing those. And going by the book, I can play music on frets 1-5 on strings G, B and e. Then I went through a phase of going to tabs, to improve my playing ability just all together. And wow, the improvement is dramatic. My playing is more more cleaner and it seemed like my experiment would work. So, then I went back to real music notes, and I was much better, and cleaner, as I was with tabs.

Chords. I don't practice those much yet. I'm probably better at "soloing" than I am switching from C to G7, or G7 to D right now. But that's not a problem. I started practicing those chords throughout the past three weeks. And I've seen improvement, much more improvement.

Right now I mostly have problems with timing. I have a hard time counting in my head when it comes to reading music. But if I know the song, I do fine.

A song that I've been trying to learn is Purple Haze by Jimi Hendrix. I'm great at the beginning, but obviously I can't come close to playing the chords right now. But, it seems possible since there is only 4 or 5 chords in the song.

So yea, how does it sound like I've been doing? I've only be practicing (on average...1 hour and 30 minutes a day), but lately I've been practicing close to 2 hours.

Also, what do you think I should focus on next? Since I can get by on single notes, probably chords, right? Anything else?

(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member

your doing great Kevin...there is really no hard and fast rule as to what you should learn first or second...it all becomes a whole eventually

...the timing!!!