Clear all

Learning/Remembering New songs

22 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@roundi)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I learn and can play a lot of songs. I have to follow along with the chords/lyrics I print out for just about all of them though. I have been playing for about 3 years and I feel I am progressing quite well. The problem is if someone asks me to play a song there are only a couple I can play without the chords/lyrics in front of me.

Is this typical?

I normally just play at home, I don't jam or play with others very often and when I do it is slightly frustrating. Is it preferable to simply pick a few songs and play them so much that I can't possibly forget them. I have no idea how people remember whole concerts worth of songs.

(@minotaur)
Noble Member

Probably the two best persons to answer this are NoteBoat and Notes Norton. Notes has a repetoire in the hundreds (I don't think I'm exaggerating) and has been on tour and performing for years.

I've been playing a little over three years also and am in the same boat as you. I can play a few songs off the top of my head, but for the most part I need to see the sheets. For me it depends on how long I've been playing the song and how easy or complex it it is. Since Proud Mary, Sundown and Heart of Gold were three of the first I started working on, for example, I can play them without a sheet. And like you there are those I can play by the sheet not having played them before because I've learned so much.

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

ReplyQuote
(@roundi)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Well it is good to see I am in good company! Coincidentally, Sundown and Heart of Gold were two of my go to songs as well for a long time. If weren't for the 700miles or so we could have a very short impromptu Jam :wink:

Currenlty my little brain is holding onto Harvest Moon,Wagonwheel and Molly's Chamber. Oh I just though of You Can't Always Get what you want as well.

ReplyQuote