Clear all

life and guitar

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@charlottejane)
Topic starter  

hello all,
I'm fairly new around here...and well...i'm looking for your advice on a certain situation of mine...
You see, i've been playing guitar for about 4 years now. At the start of the four years, all i could think about was becoming a professional musician. However, now i'm not so sure. For about the past 2 years I haven't progressed on guitar at all. I know it's completely my fault, it seems every time i look at the guitar i come up with some good excuse to not sit down and play, i'm in 2 bands and rehearsals are the only time i play now. Guitar used to be such a major part of my life, but now it's like i've lost my passion or something. Not to say i don't like guitar, i still love it...or at least i think i do... :? I'm coming to a point where i need to make some major life decisions, i don't know if i should just give up, or stop being a wussy and just play, or if i'm just missing something else completely.
I know none of you can say "Here's the road to happiness. Here's what you should do."
I guess what i'm asking is for advice and/or if any of you have found yourself stuck in a similar situation, and what you did about it?
Thanks

(@alangreen)

Hi, and welcome to Guitarnoise.

It sounds like it's time for a rethink of where you're heading. There's little value in being in a band if you're only going to play at rehearsals so I'd go marketing and see if I couldn't get myself some gigs.

Take your three best songs with whichever band is more likely to be ready first, beg borrow or steal some way of recording some material (Boss and Zoom make great kit which will fit in your pocket), record those three songs at rehearsal, tidy them up in something like Audacity (free software - a lot of us here use it) and knock it out onto a pack of CD-Rs to take round with you and hand over to club managers, pub landlords etc......