Notifications
Clear all

my fingers..

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@kailey)
Topic starter  

I just started playing acoustic about a week ago and i play for about three or four hours a day. i am improving well but my fingers hurt soooo much! I dont know what to do because in order for me to play a chord I have to kill myself. Should I just keep playing, or take a break from it for a bit? Will my fingers always hurt like this? Even the slightest touch kinda hurts, like tying this :P What should I do :?:

(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member

Sorry to say there isn't much you can do besides just push through it. It will get better, the pain will go away. You'll have to deaden a few of those nerve endings and build up a little callous first. For me, that took about 3 weeks but I wasn't playing 3 - 4 hours a day.

I would keep at it. If you take a break now you wouldn't be helping yourself. Although I'm not sure I would be playing 3 - 4 hours right now.

-- John

"Hip woman walking on a moving floor, tripping on the escalator.
There's a man in the line and she's blowin' his mind, thinking that he's already made her."

'Coming into Los Angeles' - Arlo Guthrie

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

Just a follow up to what PappaJohn was saying. It does typically take 3 or more weeks for the pain to subside. Could actually take less at the rate you are playing. I would suggest however, when the pain gets intense take a 10 or 15 minute break then come back. That will actually speed up the healing process and build the callouses quicker.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@vegas_jay)
Trusted Member

I am thinking if the pain is that bad the best is to probably take some short breaks. I have not experienced bad pain in my fingertips (though they constantly tingle). But I do sometimes feel like my hand is cramping up. So when that happens I either take a little break or I play some thing different than what I have been.

ReplyQuote