My Pinky don't Work!

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@bobblehat)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,
Just thought I'd share something that I found out today.I've been playing guitar for about 20 years.I was noodling around this afternoon running through scales and stuff and realised I never use my pinky(little finger) when playing solo's.I'd never really given it much thought until today.So for the next ten minutes or so I tried playing using my pinky but I just couldn't do it.Either my ring finger would jump in first or my pinky would just not move unless I really made a huge effort to concentrate on using it.Which made my finger cramp up and my head hurt!
I have read that most guitar playing relies on something called muscle memory.Which I believe means that over time your fingers instinctively know where they are going next and what they are doing.I guess this must be the case with my problamatic pinky,it just doesn't know what its supposed to be doing!
I guess theres a lesson to be learnt here for anyone teaching themselves to play.Don't skip the boring stuff like fingering exercise and such like as it will come back to haunt you.Even if it is 20 years later! :twisted:

My Band: http://www.myspace.com/thelanterns2010
playing whilst drunk is only permitted if all band members are in a similar state!

(@margaret)
Noble Member

My guitar teacher always guides me away from using my pinky.

I don't have a great reach yet, and tend to want to plunk down my pinky rather than stretch my ring finger out that far, and he's always correcting me on that.

So there may be some schools of thought that discourage pinky-use.

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

ReplyQuote
(@mattypretends116)
Honorable Member