Notifications
Clear all

Need Help with Rhythm/Timing

22 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@bluesman831)
Topic starter  

I have been playing off and on for about three years and know most of the commonly used chords. My biggest problem is timing and rhythm. One of my teachers told me I have none and that there is very little I can do to develop it. I would really appreciate some help since I see this as a major stumbling block to my progress as a musician.

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Have you ever tried to play with a metronome? It counts out the beats for you. Then it's up to you to keep time with the metronome. (And, you can slow it down as much as you need to until you are keeping time with it, then speed it up gradually until you can do the song at speed, then do it without the metronome and see how you fare).Once you've got it, though, and can play without the metronome, throw it in the trash. It can easily become a crutch and you really don't want that, but as a developmental tool, it's a good thing. Just don't get hooked on it! They're cheap enough, about the same as a tuner. Korg makes one that looks just like a tuner.

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@gotdablues)
Estimable Member

One of my teachers told me I have none and that there is very little I can do to develop it.

Please!!

The first thing I'd do is dump that teacher!

Then take Elecktrablue's advice and get a metronome, just try to get the click and the note or the strum to match. Keep at it till you get, its well worth the effort :D

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

+1 on dumping the teacher

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member