Clear all

new, few questions...

17 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@samsteinh22a)
Topic starter  

heya...here's my deal hehe...

some friends I have are extremely good with anything they play, be it strings or percussion, and it's kind of inspired me...I find that great accoustic or distorted songs really entice me...

I don't see how it would be too hard to learn some basics and play a little bit of guitar, heading off to college this fall, I will want a hobby...so here's what I was thinking...

my best friend and I are heading to the beach and I was going to order a super-cheap mini guitar, just to familiarize myself with and try to capture some logic while we're at the beach.

any ideas? I've searched for basic links and tutorials and haven't found extremely basic stuff that gave good elaboration on the basics like frets, chords, etc.

thanks

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to the madhouse.

Try Absolute Beginner, Fretboard map and supplement with Chords 101.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Even if you're going to play around, don't bother getting a "super cheap mini guitar". It will put you off, for life.

Get a second hand 3/4 size on or a parlour guitar.

Enjoy!

Matt

ReplyQuote
(@tim_madsen)
Prominent Member

I agree with mattguitar, buying a super cheap mini-guitar is the worst thing you could do. It will be hard to fret and sound terrible. In the end you'll probably be discouraged by it. If you decide that the guitar is for you, get a good instrument, the best you can afford. While your deciding read all you can about it. Here's a link with some information that may be helpful.

http://www.guitartips.addr.com/

Tim Madsen
Nobody cares how much you know,
until they know how much you care.

"What you keep to yourself you lose, what you give away you keep forever." -Axel Munthe

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member