Clear all

Opinions on Masterbilt series

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@iraesq)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hope this is the right forum for this issue.

I am a progressing beginner currently playing a Yamaha F325 (which has been fine for my purposes to date). I am looking to upgrade to a better quality, better sounding acoustic. I've been playing a few guitars at various music stores. I had been leaning towards a Martin 000-16GT, but it was a bit pricey for me. Then I recently played the Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500M at Guitar Center. It was very impressive...great, full sound and easy to play. It was also more reasonably priced for me.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-Masterbilt-DR500M-Acoustic-Guitar?sku=518105

So here are my questions:

1. Any particular positives or negatives people have had with the DR-500M?

2. Any opinions on how it compares to the Martin?

3. Any other suggestions on guitars I should try that are comparable in quality and price to the DR-500M.

Thanks in advance.

(@duffmaster)
Noble Member

Look into the yamaha's. I like their acoustics more than most that I've tried.

Who needs a signature?
I mean really...
It's almost always lyrics...
or a cliche...
or garbage about me...
Lets just save YOU from the pain, ok?

ReplyQuote
(@gobes)

A couple of months ago I was considering buying a new acoustic guitar. Of all the guitars that I tried my favorite was the epiphone masterbilt dr-500m. I returned to the store 5 days in a row to make sure that that one was my favorite, and it was. In the end I didn't end up buying it because I already have an acoustic, but I think that it was a great guitar. I liked it much better than others that cost much more.

So fwiw, I like that guitar.

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

i've heard and read nothing bad about the masterbuilt series, but having said that i have played one at MF and for the money i think this Washburn is a better deal and plays just as nice