Notifications
Clear all

Performing

21 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I've been playing guitar for about 6 months now and I'm looking to play in front of some friends. The problem is that being 16, most people don't know most of the songs listed so far. They likely all know Wonderwall, but I'm having my doubts that they know who Neil Young is. Any suggestions of easy songs that most teens would know? Thanks

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

jason,

Nirvana
Godsmack
Marilyn Manson
Jet

All fairly easy

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Anyone else? And I have an acoustic by the way.

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

How about Alice In Chains and Muddle of Pudd?? :D

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

lol do you mean Puddle of Mudd? :roll:

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
(@longdave)
Trusted Member

Jason,

Are your friends into music? If they truly are, to hear songs that they have not heard before will be a treat, rather than a drag.

If they exist solely on a diet of one kind of music, e.g. rap or metal to the exclusion of everything and anything else, then you're in for a tougher time, regardless of whether you play oldies or the latest hit. You can go one of two ways in this case: try to open their ears to different music (most likely achieved when hearing it performed live), or don't waste your time trying to impress them - if their ears are closed to anything more than a few months old, then they are not worthy of hearing your efforts.