Skip to content
Playing in a band? ...

Notifications
Clear all

Playing in a band? a couple guitar questions....

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@zsm10)
Topic starter  

Hey, Im new to this forum. Looks like a great place :D

So im fairly knew to guitar, ive been playing for about 18 months. Im not the best, but i'd say im decent. The hardest thing i can play is the solo for stairway to heaven. I recently got together with a bass player and a drummer from my school and we decided to start a band. We want to play rock, the song were working on right now is stairway to heaven.

My question is:

Say our drummer starts playing a beat, and the bassist starts playing a bass line. What should i play? Should i change scales or stick to a specific one? Ive been playing the pentatonic scales in the key of A every time, and it doesnt quite sound right.

I guess im saying i need help with improvising, like what scales to play with what chords

sorry... my question isnt very clear...

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

you want to play in the same key as the bassist is playing. if he's playing in A minor or C major (which use the same notes), the A minor pentatonic will work. if he's playing in a different key, it probably won't work. if he's playing in G minor, you want to use the G minor scale or G minor pentatonic , etc.
either ask what key they're in, or if you know the shapes of the scales by heart, you can probably just try to find notes by ear until you can tell what key you're in, and then take off from there.
unless you're playing jazz or a song that specifically changes keys in midsong, you should just stick to the same key and scales unless you have reason to do otherwise.
do a little research on keys, major and minor. if you have specific questions, the people here will be glad to help you.

ReplyQuote
(@coolnama)
Prominent Member