Skip to content
Somedays your the b...

Notifications
Clear all

Somedays your the bug, somedays your the windshield.

18 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Tonight I was the bug. I started my session innocently enough by sitting back with the LP and banging out a few softer things. Then I figured I needed to pick up the Taylor in preperation for a Christmas Party thing next weekend.

I started practicing the tunes I'd be playing and I'll be damned if I could get a single chord to come out cleanly. I lost every bit of rythym I ever had and song after song it felt like I was fumbling around like a teenager with his first bra to deal with.

I guess I had better pick up the accoustic all week.

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

(@indiana_jonesin)
Estimable Member

Splat! I hate when that happens. I've been getting splatted lately, too. It comes and goes, thank the Lord...as long as it goes quickly!

"Yes and an old guitar is all that he can afford,
when he gets up under the lights to play his thing..."-Dire Straits
http://www.myspace.com/misterpete42

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

May I borrow your thread cause I had the same problem last night. I have a song that I am supposed to do solo for the Christmas play at church "Mary did you know". Played it beautifully all weekend long and then last night at dress rehearsal it sounded like I never played it before. Fourty children and parents, all there to witness my destruction (Teen hecklers in the back and all) and now I feel like a NFL kicker that cant even make the extra point. Just cant get it out of my head.

Yep, Roy.. I know what your feeling.

Jim