Clear all

HELP!!!

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@brothaweed)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Please, can anybody give me any advice/direction?! I just picked up the guitar after about a 20 yr. hiatus. When I played yrs. ago I was never that good. I was pretty much self-taught and played rythm guitar and was lead singer in a band that only played cover songs. Most of the songs I learned out of "Guitar for the Practicing Musician" magazine. Anyhow, it mostly was an ego thing at the time. But now I really want to learn music. I have started taking lessons, and my teacher is teaching me the common "diatonic" chord progressions, and the main scales (ionian, myxolydian, etc), and how they appear to be on a "conveyer" belt depending on what key (?) you're in etc. I've also bought "Music Theory for Guitarists" and "Fretboard Logic". My main problem is how do I apply/embed this info to where I can understand it. A lot of the literature I delve in to, feels like I'm always missing something more basic in order to understand what I'm reading (specialy for "Music Theory for Guitarists).

The other night I watched a local band play in a local venue and they were frickin' incredible! They had one guitarist, a sax player, a fiddler, a drummer, and a bass player. These guys were doing incredible things. Playing with silence/pauses. Doing some crazy jazzy chaotic stuff than regrouping in an incredible way! How do I get there?!!!

I find myself going back to Tablature because I want to PLAY something, after feeling like some of the new info isn't sinking. Do I just need to be patient and let go, and go for the ride (with my guitar instructor and other literature?).