Notifications
Clear all

Tendinitis

22 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

and just as an aside, i don't know where the idea that people from either end of the age spectrum are least likely to follow a doctor's advice, is coming from. i work with the elderly population and haven't noticed this in particular and i've never read any study concerning this idea. not saying it isn't true...just wondering about it.

It may well simply be a perception of physicians, and not based on any factual findings.

However, it was a pretty common attitude in the physicians I worked with (I'm a statistician who spent some time doing medical research number crunching at a research and teaching hospital).

In general (and all generalizations have exceptions of course) I've found that research physicians are pretty astute when it comes to population trends in their patients. So while I can't cite a study to back up the claim, and I'm prefectly willing to be shown to be wrong, until then, I'll go with the gut feelings of the doctors I know.

I can't tell you how many times they've come back with some study data and told me what I'd find before we crunched the numbers. You don't get tenure in a research hospital without having a pretty refined ability to identify trends.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@bennett)
Reputable Member

However, it was a pretty common attitude in the physicians I worked with (I'm a statistician who spent some time doing medical research number crunching at a research and teaching hospital).
Oh dear, not another statistician. My wife's one as well, working for the state health department. :o :D

From little things big things grow - Paul Kelly

ReplyQuote
(@prndl)
Reputable Member